Happisburgh Lighthouse Open Days

Visit the oldest working light on the Norfolk Coast and the only independently operated lighthouse in the UK.

The lighthouse is open to the public on occasional Sundays and Bank Holidays throughout the summer.

Postcode for SatNav: NR12 0PY

2019 openings:

Open from 10.30am to 4.00pm

Adults £5;  children (16 and under) £1.  We regret that children under 1 metre in height are not able to climb the 112 steps to the lantern .

We regret that dogs are not allowed in the lighthouse on public open days, though visitors are welcome to wait with them outside. Dogs must be kept on a lead within the lighthouse compound. Both lighthouse cottages are privately owned, so please respect their privacy.

  • Sunday 21st April (Easter Sunday)
  • Monday 22nd April (Easter Monday)
  • Sunday 5th May
  • Monday 6th May (Bank Holiday)
  • Sunday 26th May
  • Monday 27th May (Bank Holiday)
  • Sunday 21st July
  • Sunday 28th July
  • Sunday 4th August
  • Sunday 11th August
  • Sunday 18th August (International Lighthouse Heritage Weekend)
  • Sunday 25th August
  • Monday 26th August (Bank Holiday)
  • Sunday 1st September

Please see our Facebook page for the latest updates.

Become a volunteer

To find out more about becoming a volunteer at our open days, please contact Joy Tubby Tel: 01493 751177

Private visits can also be arranged throughout the year for individuals or groups.  Please contact Stephen Burke or telephone 01692 650816.

There is a minimum charge of £30 for groups up to six, £5 per head for adults and £1 per child (aged 16 and under) for larger groups.  Special rates apply for educational visits. Please note that private visits are provided by volunteers. Please allow as much notice as possible when arranging an appointment.